Help me on my crowd-sourced holiday

I’m off to Melbourne at the weekend, the first time I’ve ever been there. Usually I’d take a stack of guide books, leaflets and maps. I’d spend hours pouring over them, planning my day; what bars to go to, the best sights to see, the quirkiest restaurants to eat at. If I didn’t cover off everything in my list I’d get depressed and stressed. I’d feel I’d somehow wasted my time and money. You get the picture.

But not this time.

This time I’m going to do things differently. I’m going to keep things firmly 2011 and have a completely crowd-sourced holiday. That’s right, I’m binning the books and, using only my iPhone and a range of social networks, I’m going to go it alone.

That means from the moment I arrive to the moment I leave Melbourne, I’m basing my trip on information I can glean from Twitter and Facebook, venue suggestions and tips on Scvngr and must-dos on Foursquare.

This could lead to a dreadful holiday experience, careering from random venue to random venue. Or maybe it will lead to the most amazing, spontaneous holiday ever. Either way, it’ll be fun finding out. Look me up at www.twitter.com/willockenden if you want to help out. The results will be published right here, very soon…

Image used under Creative Commons courtesy of Endlesstrail

Leave a comment

Filed under Social Networks

Leave a Reply

